Worth the Wait

Just a short blog to say hello and report on recent acquisitions….

So I have these two vintage low profile lounge chairs in my living room that I bought on craigslist and refinished myself (remind me to NEVER do that again!). Well I’ve been looking for a little accent table, preferably Danish modern, to go in between the two chairs for FOR-EV-ER with no success. On Sunday I got the picking itch (shocker) and decided to go to a trendy mid century resale shop that I totally assumed would be astronomically expensive. It’s called Uptown Modern, located on Burnet in central Austin. Here are some pictures of their STUPENDOUS vintage hotness!!!!

20111012-050521.jpg

20111012-050535.jpg

20111012-050547.jpg

The massive blue Holmegaard vase was the first thing to greet me at the door. I was in HEAVEN!! So I looked around, lusting and drooling when i quickly found a super cute low profile Danish modern teak cube end table. I quickly flipped it over and inspected it. Made in Denmark? Yes. Solid wood? Yes. Only $95? YES!! It was in great condition with minimal surfaces scratches and had been marked down from $125 to $95. Yay!!! I bought it and it’s PERFECT! Below is a picture of it in my living room. I turned it over on its side so I can use the hollow interior for storage of shipping supplies for my Etsy and eBay sales.

20111012-051058.jpg

20111012-051109.jpg

The tiny atomic red glass bowl on the table is 1950s Orrefors and was at the same shop and very reasonably priced at $35, especially since it was made and signed by Orrefors glass master Sven Palmqvist. I nearly immediately got a tiny chip on the rim as soon as I got it home. LAME! The large Murano geode bowl, which is on my etsy shop, was purchased at a super ritzy antique store next door to Uptown Modern and was unmarked and laughably cheap when I inquired about it.

Last weekend I purchased a signed, numbered, and dated mid century lithograph, 1959, that I had been stalking / lusting after at my favorite resale / consignment shop. It had been $65, which was totally reasonable, but finally was marked down to $22! Mine!!! I hung it up in my kitchen last night. Unfortunately I can’t make out the signature but it still looks awesome!

20111012-051635.jpg

Can’t wait to go hunting again this weekend!

Leave a Reply

